Monday, March 22, 2010

Relationships and undergrad formal

I had my year-end undergraduate formal three days ago and I still can not get over what a bad time I had. It was all about expectations...

Several things:
1) It was a social WAR out there- it takes a lot of confidence, a lot of moves, and a lot of savvy to navigate a crowd of people you don't know well. I for one am terrible at it! How do people cope with it? From my observations:
a. they have a significant other or a designated person/group who is their safety blanket
b. they are drunk
c. they are just that good and have the skillz
d. they are oblivious to the awkwardness of the evening and could have gone on a date with a cactus and still had a good time

I unfortunately were none of these things...it is no wonder I did not have a good time. (But on an optimistic note, had a better time than if I were embracing a cactus...)

2) I was snubbed several times and I could not help but take some of them personally. It caused me to re-evaluate friendships and tempted me to write some off. This is NOT a good idea because in large social events like this, no one EVER acts like themselves (plus the alcohol), and people are much more concerned about appearances than anything else. So I am working hard to convince myself to have confidence in my friendships and that one debauched night of snubbery means nothing.

3) How to re-write the evening so I feel better about it? So I feel better about myself?

The conclusion of the night: DON'T TAKE ANYTHING PERSONALLY! IT IS NOT PERSONAL!

Sunday, March 21, 2010

My relationship with my El Guapo

First, watch The three Amigos.

Everyone has one, an "El Guapo" aka arch nemesis. Mine happens to be a petite, ethnic girl who tries waaaaaaaaay too hard to be a caucasian valley girl. What's with that?

A couple things:

1) I don't understand girls who act differently towards someone depending on his/her gender. And it is usually a girl who is annoyingly flirty around boys, and anally selective with her girlfriends. My arch nemesis would only talk to me when I was talking to a guy, or if she was bored and needed to look socially occupied. Not cool.

2) What makes a girl that way? Do these girls have any insight into how flaky and fake they are?

3) Even in her fair-weather ways, it took me a while to write her off. I bounced between feelings of "is-she-a-good-person-I-have-just-misunderstood?" to "what-a-self-absorbed-b*atch-what-is-her-problem?" and in the end, I have come to this conclusion: Not worth it.

Clearly she has some underlying insecurities, and I don't care. I will judge you based on how you treat me and those I care about. I am working on weeding these kinds of people out of my life.